Home > Events >

How to Survive a Summer
How to Survive a Summer
by Nick White


 
Alternative Views:


First Edition. Signed.
Price: $26.00
Qty:

Description
 
New York, NY: Blue Rider Press (pub: June 6, 2017)

First Edition. Signed.

As new in dust jacket.

A debut novel centering around a gay conversion camp in Mississippi, and a man’s reckoning with the trauma he faced there as a teen. For readers of Kent Russell and Justin Torres.

Camp Levi—a retreat nestled in the Mississippi countryside—is designed to “cure” young teenage boys of their budding homosexuality. Will Dillard, a Midwestern graduate student, spent a summer at Levi as a teenager, and has since tried to erase that experience from his mind. But when a fellow student alerts him that a slasher movie based on the camp is being released, he is forced to confront his troubled history and possible culpability in the death of a fellow camper.

As past and present are woven together, Will recounts his “rehabilitation,” eventually returning to the abandoned campgrounds to solve the mysteries of that pivotal summer, and to reclaim his story from those who have stolen it. With a masterful confluence of sensibility and place, How to Survive a Summer introduces an exciting new literary voice.

NICK WHITE is an Assistant Professor of English at Ohio State University. A native of Mississippi, he earned a Ph.D. in English from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. His short stories have been published in a variety of places, including The Kenyon Review, Guernica, Indiana Review, Day One, The Hopkins Review, and elsewhere.

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »