John Grisham is coming to Lemuria!

Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Signing 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Discussion 5:30 p.m.

Join us for a special afternoon with John Grisham as he signs and discusses his 30th novel – CAMINO ISLAND – on his first bookstore tour in 25 years!

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, May 16 at 9 a.m.
Tickets will be sold in-store ONLY
Tickets are $32 (including one copy of Camino Island)
or $63 (including two copies)
Event attendance will be strictly limited to 200 people

READ MORE





Thursday, April 27 - Thursday, May 4





Children's Book Week at Lemuria

Celebrate Children's Book Week at signings with illustrators David Wiesner and Debbie Ohi, story times, and a visit from Llama Llama!

Thursday, April 27
@3:30 David Wiesner signs Fish Girl

Friday, April 28
@4 Signing and Story Time with Sea Monkey & Bob illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Saturday, April 29
@10 Story Time and photos with Llama Llama

Monday, May 1
@3:30 Story Time & Activity: The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt and Adam Rex

Tuesday, May 2
@3:30 Story Time & Activity: The Prince and the Porker by Peter Bently and David Roberts
& Olivia the Spy by Ian Falconer


Wednesday, May 3
@10 Mommy & Me! Story Time & Activity: The Giant Jumperee by Julia Donaldson and Helen Oxenbury
@3:30 Story Time & Activity: Life on Mars by Jon Agee


Thursday, May 4
@3:30 Story Writing Workshop with Clara Martin

Come see us on Saturday, April 29th for Independent Bookstore Day!



Thursday, April 27, 2017
Signing 3:30 | Reading 4:00


Fish Girl $25.00
by David Wiesner

New York, NY: Clarion Books (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual imagination and trademark artistry to the graphic novel format in a unique coming-of-age tale that begins underwater. A young mermaid, called Fish Girl, in a boardwalk aquarium has a chance encounter with an ordinary girl...

Read More...



Friday, April 28, 2017
Story Time Event 4:00


Sea Monkey & Bob $17.99
illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

New York, NY: Simon & Schuster (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Two delightfully anxious friends learn that they can overcome anything—even gravity—in this humorous and heartwarming picture book from bestselling author Aaron Reynolds and illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi. Bob the puffer fish and his best buddy Sea Monkey may be little but they’ve got one ocean-sized problem. Sea Monkey’s terrified he’ll sink straight to the bottom of the ocean...

Read More...



Saturday, April 29, 2017
Signing 2:00


General Fox Conner $34.95
by Steven Rabalais

Philadelphia, PA: Casemate (2016). Hardback. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

John J. Pershing considered Fox Conner to have been “a brilliant soldier” and “one of the finest characters our Army has ever produced.” During World War I, General Conner served as chief of operations for the American Expeditionary Force in Europe. Pershing told Conner: “I could have spared any other man in the A.E.F. better than you.” Dwight D. Eisenhower viewed Fox Conner as “the outstanding soldier of my time.” In the early 1920s, Conner transformed his protégé Eisenhower from a struggling...

Read More...



Thursday, May 4, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI $29.95
by David Grann

New York, NY: Doubleday (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

From New Yorker staff writer David Grann, #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Lost City of Z, a twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of the most monstrous crimes in American history. In the 1920s, the richest people per capita in the world were members of the Osage Indian nation in Oklahoma. After oil was discovered beneath their land, they rode in chauffeured automobiles, built mansions, and sent their children to study in Europe. Then, one by one, the Osage began to be killed off. The family of an Osage woman...

Read More...



Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Between Them: Remembering My Parents $25.99
by Richard Ford

New York, NY: Ecco (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

From Pulitzer Prize winner and New York Times-bestselling author Richard Ford, a memoir in two parts on the lives of his parents—a stirring meditation on memory, connection, and love, asking how we can better understand ourselves by knowing the ones who made us. When do we start considering our parents as real, whole people, with lives that stretch beyond our own? Edna and Parker Ford were married for fifteen years before they had their son, Richard...

Read More...



Thursday, May 11, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Somebody with a Little Hammer $25.95
by Mary Gaitskill

New York, NY: Pantheon (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Whether she’s writing about date rape or political adultery or writers from John Updike to Gillian Flynn, Mary Gaitskill reads her subjects deftly and aphoristically and moves beyond them to locate the deep currents of longing, ambition, perversity, and loneliness in the American unconscious. She shows us the transcendentalism of the Talking Heads, the melancholy of Bjork, the playfulness of artist Laurel Nakadate. She celebrates the clownish grandiosity and the poetry of Norman Mailer’s long career and maps the sociosexual...

Read More...



Saturday, May 13, 2017
Signing 1:00


A Year in Mississippi $28.00
by Charline R. McCord and Judy H. Tucker

Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Glorious moments from all of Mississippi’s seasons in the Capital, the Delta, the Hill Country, the Piney Woods, and on the Coast...

Read More...



Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


The Legend of the Albino Farm $16.00
by Steve Yates

New York, NY: Unbridled (2017). Paperback. Signed.

The harrowing saga of the last of a loving family cursed over the years by a progressively destructive community legend or by a piece of land in the Missouri Ozarks that is haunted by some evil first revealed through a childhood vision...

Read More...



Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


The Road to Camelot $28.00
by Thomas Oliphant and Curtis Wilkie

New York, NY: Simon & Schuster (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

A behind-the-scenes, revelatory account of John F. Kennedy’s wily campaign to the White House, beginning with his bold, failed attempt to win the vice presidential nomination in 1956. A young and undistinguished junior plots his way to the presidency and changes the way we nominate and elect presidents...

Read More...



Thursday, May 18, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Fireflies, Glow-worms, and Lightning Bugs $32.95
by Lynn Frierson Faust

Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press (2017). Paperback. Signed.

Fireflies, Glow-worms, and Lightning Bugs is the first comprehensive firefly guide for eastern and central North America ever published. It is written for all those who want to know more about the amazing world of lightning bugs and learn the secrets hidden in the flash patterns of the 75+ species found in the eastern and central U.S. and Canada...

Read More...



Friday, May 19, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


American War $26.95
by Omar El Akkad

New York, NY: Knopf (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

An audacious and powerful debut novel: a second American Civil War, a devastating plague, and one family caught deep in the middle—a story that asks what might happen if America were to turn its most devastating policies and deadly weapons upon itself. Sarat Chestnut, born in Louisiana, is only six when the Second American Civil War breaks out in 2074. But even she knows that oil is outlawed...

Read More...



Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Event 6:00


Same Beach, Next Year $27.99
by Dorothea Benton Frank

New York, NY: William Morrow (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Dorothea Benton Frank returns to her magical Lowcountry of South Carolina in this bewitching story of marriage, love, family, and friendship that is infused with her warm and engaging earthy humor and generous heart...

Read More...



Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


My Soul Looks Back $25.00
by Jessica B. Harris

New York, NY: Scribner (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

In this captivating new memoir, award-winning writer Jessica B. Harris recalls a lost era—the vibrant New York City of her youth, where her social circle included Maya Angelou, James Baldwin, and other members of the Black intelligentsia...

Read More...



Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


How to Survive a Summer $26.00
by Nick White

New York, NY: Blue Rider Press (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

A debut novel centering around a gay conversion camp in Mississippi, and a man’s reckoning with the trauma he faced there as a teen. For readers of Kent Russell and Justin Torres...

Read More...



Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Signing 5:30


Hazel Brannon Smith: The Female Crusading Scalawag $35.00
by Jeffrey B. Howell

Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi (2017). Hardback. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

How one woman and her newspaper defied the white status quo and won a Pulitzer Prize...

Read More...



John Grisham is coming to Lemuria!

Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Signing 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Discussion 5:30 p.m.

Join us for a special afternoon with John Grisham as he signs and discusses his 30th novel – CAMINO ISLAND – on his first bookstore tour in 25 years!

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, May 16 at 9 a.m.
Tickets will be sold in-store ONLY
Tickets are $32 (including one copy of Camino Island)
or $63 (including two copies)
Event attendance will be strictly limited to 200 people

READ MORE





Saturday, June 24, 2017
Signing 4:00


The Actress $18.00
by Michael Hicks Thompson

Shepherd King Publishing (2017). Paperback. Signed.

Martha McRae is a widow living in a small Mississippi town in the 1960s. When the most famous actress in America, Tallulah Ivey, comes to Solo to film a controversial movie, a prominent local citizen is shot and killed outside Ivey’s bedroom window. A note is found clenched...

Read More...



Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Signing 5:00


A Literary History of Mississippi $40.00
edited by Lorie Watkins

Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi (2017). Hardback. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

The first comprehensive history of literature from a state with perhaps the nation's richest literary lode...

Read More...



Thursday, June 29, 2017
Story Time and Signing 3:00


A New Friend for Sparkle $16.99
by Amy Young

New York, NY: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

More Sparkle to love! Here's a new picture book starring Sparkle and Lucy about what happens when your best friend makes a new pal. In A Unicorn Named Sparkle, Lucy found out that the unicorn she thought she didn't want was the exact right unicorn for her. In this new story, Lucy makes a new friend and Sparkle is worried that means she doesn't care about him anymore. What happens when two's company but three's a crowd?

Read More...



Friday, July 28, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Fierce Kingdom $25.00
by Gin Phillips

New York, NY: Viking (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

An electrifying novel about the primal and unyielding bond between a mother and her son, and the lengths she’ll go to to protect him. The zoo is nearly empty as Joan and her four-year-old son soak up the last few moments of playtime. They are happy, and the day has been close to perfect. But what Joan sees as she hustles her son toward the exit gate minutes before closing time sends her sprinting back into the zoo, her child in her arms. And for the next...

Read More...