Home > All Books >

The Book of Mistakes
The Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken
written and illustrated by Corinna Luyken


 
First Edition. Signed.
Price: $18.99
Qty:

Description
 
June 2017 First Editions Club for Young Readers

New York, NY: Random House (April 18, 2017)

Picture Book. First Edition. Signed.

As new in dust jacket.

Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which “mistakes” can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other.
That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing?
It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges… they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds’s Ish and Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life’s obstacles. SEE LESS

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »