Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Southernmost $26.95
by Silas House

Chapel Hill, NC: Algonquin (2018). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

When a flood washes away much of a small community along the Cumberland River in Tennessee, Asher Sharp, an evangelical preacher there, starts to see his life anew. He has already lost a brother due to his inability to embrace his brother’s coming out of the closet. Now, in the aftermath of the flood, he tries to offer shelter to two gay men, but he’s met with resistance by his wife. Furious about her prejudice, Asher delivers a sermon where he passionately defends the right of gay people to exist without condemnation...

Read More...



Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Sweet & Low $25.00
by Nick White

New York, NY: Blue Rider Press (2018). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Praised by the Washington Post as “Tennessee Williams...transposed to the twenty-first-century South,” Nick White returns with a stunning short-story collection that tackles issues of masculinity, identity, and place, with a sharp eye for social commentary and a singular handling of character. At first glance, the stories in Sweet & Low seem grounded in the everyday: they paint pictures of idyllic Southern landscapes, characters fulfilling their roles as students, wives, boyfriends, sons...

Read More...



Thursday, June 21, 2018
Story Time at the Eudora Welty House | Signing & Reading 3:00


Finn's Feather $17.95
by Rachel Noble & Zoey Abbott

Jackson, MS: Enchanted Lion Books (2018). Hardback. Signed.

Finn knows his brother is gone. But he also knows that Hamish sent the beautiful white feather on his doorstep. Finn runs to show his mother the feather from Hamish, but she only gives him a big hug. In school, Finn’s teacher responds similarly. Why isn’t anyone as excited as he is? Finn sits quietly, cradling the beautiful, amazing feather. “Why did Hamish give it to you?” asks his friend, Lucas. “Maybe he wanted to say hi?” wonders Finn. “Maybe,” Lucas says, “Hamish wanted you to have fun with it”...

Read More...



Monday, July 2, 2018
Young Adult Event | Signing & Reading 5:00


Lifeline $20.50
by Abbey Lee Nash

North Point, FL: Tiny Fox Press (2018). Paperback. Signed.

Abbey Lee Nash debuts with a new voice along the lines of Jennifer Niven, Sharon M. Draper, and John Green, in Lifeline, a gorgeously written tale that plunges the reader into the life of popular high school senior Eli Ross who has everything...until an overdose at a party takes it all away. After nearly dying in the ER, Eli agrees to go to LakeShore Recovery Center, an inpatient substance abuse treatment program where he’ll spend the next 28 days...

Read More...



Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


The Lost Country $26.95
by William Gay

Sonny Brewer, a longtime friend of Gay's, will tour and sign. He wrote the foreword.

New York, NY: Dzanc Books (2018). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Ten years after it was first announced, Dzanc is proud to deliver the lost novel from a master of the Southern Gothic—the work William Gay fans have anticipated for a decade. Billy Edgewater is a harbinger of doom. Estranged from his family, discharged from the Navy, and touched by a rising desperation, he sets out hitchhiking home to East Tennessee, where his father is slowly dying...

Read More...



Thursday, July 12, 2018
Middle Grade Event | Signing & Reading 5:00


Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe $16.99
by Jo Watson Hackl

New York, NY: Random House (2018). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

A Mississippi ghost town and an art mystery combine in this gorgeously written debut just right for fans of Three Times Lucky and A Snicker of Magic! How far would you go to find something that might not even exist? All her life, Cricket’s mama has told her stories about a secret room painted by a mysterious artist. Now Mama’s run off, and Cricket thinks the room might be the answer to getting her to come back. If it exists. And if she can find it...

Read More...



Monday, July 16, 2018
Middle Grade Event | Signing & Reading 5:00


The High Climber of Dark Water Bay $11.99
by Caroline Arden

New York, NY: Turner (2018). Paperback. Signed.

Twelve-year-old Lizzie is in trouble. She used to live a comfortable life with her loving father, but after the stock market crash of 1929 and his sudden death, she and her family now live in poverty. Lizzie is expected to help support the family, but she can’t even cook without burning food. One day, a letter arrives. Her wealthy uncle has offered her a paying job as a summer governess for her two young cousins at a remote logging camp, so she travels alone into the wilderness of Vancouver, British Columbia...

Read More...



Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Privacy's Blueprint: The Battle to Control the Design of New Technologies $35.00
by Woodrow Hartzog

Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press (2018). Hardback. Signed.

Every day, Internet users interact with technologies designed to undermine their privacy. Social media apps, surveillance technologies, and the Internet of Things are all built in ways that make it hard to guard personal information. And the law says this is okay because it is up to users to protect themselves—even when the odds are deliberately stacked against them. In Privacy’s Blueprint, Woodrow Hartzog pushes back against this state of affairs, arguing that the law should require software and hardware makers to respect privacy...

Read More...



Thursday, August 9, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Catfish Dream: Ed Scott's Fight for His Family Farm and Racial Justice in the Mississippi Delta $24.95
by Julian Rankin

Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press (2018). Paperback. Signed.

Catfish Dream centers around the experiences, family, and struggles of Ed Scott Jr. (born in 1922), a prolific farmer in the Mississippi Delta and the first ever nonwhite owner and operator of a catfish plant in the nation. Both directly and indirectly, the economic and political realities of food and subsistence affect the everyday lives of Delta farmers and the people there. Ed’s own father, Edward Sr., was a former sharecropper turned landowner who was one of the first black men to grow rice in the state...

Read More...



Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Mississippi's Exiled Daughter: How My Civil Rights Baptism Under Fire Shaped My Life $21.95
by Brenda Travis

Montgomery, AL: NewSouth Books (2018). Paperback. Signed.

In 1961, 16-year-old Brenda Travis was a youth leader of the NAACP branch in her hometown of McComb, Mississippi. She joined in the early stages of voter registration, and when the Freedom Rides and direct action reached McComb, she and two SNCC workers sat-in at the local bus station. That led to her first arrest and jailing, which resulted in her being expelled and leading a protest walkout from her high school. Thrown in jail for a second time, she was eventually released on the condition that she leave the state...

Read More...



Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Rush $26.99
by Lisa Patton

New York, NY: St. Martin's Press (2018). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Bestselling author Lisa Patton digs deep into exciting new territory with Rush, a story about mothers and daughters, sisterhood, tradition, and doing the right thing. When Lilith Whitmore, the well-heeled House Corp President of Alpha Delta Beta—the premiere sorority at Ole Miss—appoints recent empty-nester Wilda to the Rush Advisory Board, Wilda can hardly believe her luck. What’s more, Lilith suggests their daughters, both incoming freshman, room together! ...

Read More...



Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


On Desperate Ground: The Marines at The Reservoir, the Korean War's Greatest Battle $30.00
by Hampton Sides

New York, NY: Doubleday (2018). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers and In the Kingdom of Ice, a chronicle of the extraordinary feats of heroism by Marines called on to do the impossible during the greatest battle of the Korean War. On October 15, 1950, General Douglas MacArthur, Supreme Commander of UN troops in Korea, convinced President Harry Truman that the Communist forces of Kim Il-sung would be utterly defeated by Thanksgiving. The Chinese, he said with near certainty, would not intervene in the war...

Read More...