John Grisham is coming to Lemuria!

Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Signing 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Discussion 5:30 p.m.

Join us for a special afternoon with John Grisham as he signs and discusses his 30th novel – CAMINO ISLAND – on his first bookstore tour in 25 years!

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, May 16 at 9 a.m.
Tickets will be sold in-store ONLY
Tickets are $32 (including one copy of Camino Island)
or $63 (including two copies)
Event attendance will be strictly limited to 200 people

READ MORE





Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Signing 5:30 | Reading 6:00


Cactus Jack $33.95/$19.95
by Walter D. Hubbard

Christian Faith Publishing (2017). Hardcover/Paperback. Signed.

What sets Jack Mason Carlisle's story apart is the adversity he overcame and the many lives impacted because he did. He constantly coached and taught as if he had something to prove, because he did. After a boyhood accident resulted in the amputation of his leg, the odds were stacked heavily against him to ever fulfill his dream of becoming a coach...

Read More...



Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Event 6:00


Same Beach, Next Year $27.99
by Dorothea Benton Frank

New York, NY: William Morrow (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Dorothea Benton Frank returns to her magical Lowcountry of South Carolina in this bewitching story of marriage, love, family, and friendship that is infused with her warm and engaging earthy humor and generous heart...

Read More...



Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


My Soul Looks Back $25.00
by Jessica B. Harris

New York, NY: Scribner (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

In this captivating new memoir, award-winning writer Jessica B. Harris recalls a lost era—the vibrant New York City of her youth, where her social circle included Maya Angelou, James Baldwin, and other members of the Black intelligentsia...

Read More...



Saturday, June 10, 2017
Signing 2:00


Seven Southern Tales Plus One $9.98
by Dianne Lipscomb

Createspace (2012). Paperback. Signed.

Seven Southern Tales Plus One, a collection of short stories born from Mississippi memories and imagination, span race, class, and time. These stories pulsate with Southern life sprinkled by the hopes, fears, assertions, and misconceptions that rule the characters’ lives...

Read More...



Tuesday, June 13, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


The Potlikker Papers $28.00
by John T. Edge

New York, NY: Penguin (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

A people’s history of Southern food that reveals how the region came to be at the forefront of American culinary culture and how issues of race have shaped Southern cuisine over the last six decades. The Potlikker Papers tells the story of food and politics in the South over the last half century...

Read More...



Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


How to Survive a Summer $26.00
by Nick White

New York, NY: Blue Rider Press (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

A debut novel centering around a gay conversion camp in Mississippi, and a man’s reckoning with the trauma he faced there as a teen. For readers of Kent Russell and Justin Torres...

Read More...



Thursday, June 15, 2017
Signing 4:30 | Reading 5:30


The Five Manners of Death $32.99
by Darden North

Wordcrafts (2017). Hardback. Signed.

The Five Manners of Death is a taut, tense, and gripping tale about a long-buried secret, unleashed to begin the countdown of the five ways to die. For Mississippi surgeon Diana Bratton, the novel’s protagonist, pages torn from a 1960s college yearbook reveal that murder is a family affair...

Read More...



Friday, June 16, 2017
Signing 5:00


Into the Silence $20.00
by John Y. Gibson

Sewanee, TN: Border Press (2017). Paperback. Signed.

On Christmas Eve, a young physician is pulled into a scenario that forces him to face issues of life and death, love and hate, possession and loss. The only way out for him is to enter the realm known by the ancients as the silence...

Read More...



Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Signing 5:30


Hazel Brannon Smith: The Female Crusading Scalawag $35.00
by Jeffrey B. Howell

Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi (2017). Hardback. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

How one woman and her newspaper defied the white status quo and won a Pulitzer Prize...

Read More...



John Grisham is coming to Lemuria!

Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Signing 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Discussion 5:30 p.m.

Join us for a special afternoon with John Grisham as he signs and discusses his 30th novel – CAMINO ISLAND – on his first bookstore tour in 25 years!

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, May 16 at 9 a.m.
Tickets will be sold in-store ONLY
Tickets are $32 (including one copy of Camino Island)
or $63 (including two copies)
Event attendance will be strictly limited to 200 people

READ MORE





Saturday, June 24, 2017
Signing 4:00


The Actress $18.00
by Michael Hicks Thompson

Shepherd King Publishing (2017). Paperback. Signed.

Martha McRae is a widow living in a small Mississippi town in the 1960s. When the most famous actress in America, Tallulah Ivey, comes to Solo to film a controversial movie, a prominent local citizen is shot and killed outside Ivey’s bedroom window. A note is found clenched...

Read More...



Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Signing 5:00


A Literary History of Mississippi $40.00
edited by Lorie Watkins

Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi (2017). Hardback. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

The first comprehensive history of literature from a state with perhaps the nation's richest literary lode...

Read More...



Thursday, June 29, 2017
Story Time and Signing 3:00


A New Friend for Sparkle $16.99
by Amy Young

New York, NY: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

More Sparkle to love! Here's a new picture book starring Sparkle and Lucy about what happens when your best friend makes a new pal. In A Unicorn Named Sparkle, Lucy found out that the unicorn she thought she didn't want was the exact right unicorn for her. In this new story, Lucy makes a new friend and Sparkle is worried that means she doesn't care about him anymore. What happens when two's company but three's a crowd?

Read More...



Thursday, June 29, 2017
Signing 5:00


Gumbo Love $30.00
by Lucy Buffett

New York, NY: Grand Central (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

Since she was a young girl, Lucy Buffett has believed in the power of gumbo-the stirring, the transformation of the roux, the simple ingredients cooking up into something much better than just the sum of its parts. It's only fitting that she signs her name with "Gumbo Love" and that she makes a living feeding people the most delicious, soul-satisfying food...

Read More...



Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


A Life of Adventure and Delight $24.95
by Akhil Sharma

New York, NY: W. W. Norton (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

“There’s a great duality to these stories: simple but complex, funny enough to laugh out loud at but emotionally devastating, foreign yet familiar. What an exciting and original writer this is, and what a knock-out collection.” —David Sedaris. Hailed as a storyteller whose fiction is “a glowing work of art” (Wall Street Journal), Akhil Sharma is possessed of a narrative...

Read More...



Thursday, July 27, 2017
Signing 5:00


Rocky Boyer's War $29.95
by Allen D. Boyer

Naval Institute Press (2017). Hardback. Signed.

In Rocky Boyer’s War, Allen Boyer offers a wry, keen-eyed, and occasionally disgruntled counterpoint history of the hard-fought, brilliant campaign that won World War II in the Southwest Pacific. Based in part on an unauthorized diary kept by the author's father, 1st Lt. Roscoe “Rocky” Boyer, this narrative history offers the reader an account of Allied air commander Gen. George Kenney's "air blitz" offensive as it was lived both in the cockpit and on the ground...

Read More...



Friday, July 28, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Fierce Kingdom $25.00
by Gin Phillips

New York, NY: Viking (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

An electrifying novel about the primal and unyielding bond between a mother and her son, and the lengths she’ll go to to protect him. The zoo is nearly empty as Joan and her four-year-old son soak up the last few moments of playtime. They are happy, and the day has been close to perfect. But what Joan sees as she hustles her son toward the exit gate minutes before closing time sends her sprinting back into the zoo, her child in her arms. And for the next...

Read More...



Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Signing 5:00 | Reading 5:30


Cherry Bomb $24.95
by Susan Cushman

Brandon, MS: Dogwood (2017). First Edition. Signed. As new in dust jacket.

By the tender age of sixteen, Mary Catherine Henry has lived through enough horror to last a lifetime. Sexual abuse at the hands of her cult-leading father, abandonment by her drug-addicted mother (who nicknamed her Mare), and several spirit-crushing years with a dysfunctional foster family convince her that life on the streets will be easier, somehow, than what she’s always known...

Read More...