Home > Events >

The Mysterious Messenger
The Mysterious Messenger
by Gilbert Ford


 
Alternative Views:


First Edition. Signed on the title page by Gilbert Ford.
First Editions Club Pick - July 2020

If you're in the First Editions Club for Young Readers, you do not have to pre-order.
Price: $16.99

Availability: Pre-Order
Qty:

Description
 
July 2020 Middle Grade Book Selection | First Editions Club

New York, NY: Macmillan (pub: July 21, 2020)
First Edition. Signed.
New in dust jacket.

A middle-grade urban fantasy debut starring young psychic Maria de la Cruz by the award-winning Gilbert Ford.

Eleven-year-old Maria de la Cruz is trapped under the thumb of Madame Destine, her fake-psychic mother who cons widows out of their inheritances. But Maria, unlike her mom, has a big secret—she really can communicate with the dead, most frequently with a ghost named Edward who has been her only friend since she was a child. It’s not long before this clairvoyant young sleuth gets wrapped up in an epic journey that combines bookish mystery, art history, and great friendship.

This smart, big-hearted novel with gorgeous illustrations throughout is perfect for fans of Book Scavenger, Winterhouse, and The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street.

GILBERT FORD holds a BFA in illustration from Pratt Institute and an MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. He is the author-illustrator of How the Cookie Crumbled and The Marvelous Thing That Came from a Spring, which is a Best STEM Book of the Year, and has illustrated many New York Times–bestselling middle grade jackets, as well as the award-winning picture book Mr. Ferris and His Wheel. He lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. The Mysterious Messenger marks his middle grade debut.


Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »